Enable Windows Desktop Experience

The Desktop Experience feature is a new feature in the Windows Server 2008. It includes most of applications and features that are provided in Windows Vista. If you use Windows Server 2008 as your primary operating system you might want to have some of these features available for use.

The Desktop Experience feature includes the following Windows Vista components and features: Windows Calendar, Mail, Media Player, Aero, Photo Gallery, SideShow, Windows Defender, Disk Cleanup, Sync Center, Sound Recorder, Character Map, and AVI support. To enable these features, follow these steps:

 1. Go to 'Start->Administrative Tools->Server Manager'
 2. Click on 'Add Features' in the Features Summary section
 3. Click on 'Desktop Experience' then click 'Next'
 4. Click on the 'Install' button
 5. Restart your computer for the changes to take affect